Round Bellies and Gifts

Some days I dream of round bellies and gifts wrapped in pale blues, pinks, and greens.  I can feel the joy, the excitement, and the love of everybody in the room.  But I can’t see the face of the woman standing front and center, belly swollen and radiating an energy I can feel.

Then I wake up and realize that it was only a dream, as real as it seemed.  I usually frown in disappointment because I’ve been unable to harness that experience as my own.  But this morning I decided to BELIEVE that the woman in my dreams is me, and I just have to wait.

I think this shift in reaction has something to do with the fact that I now have real answers, a game plan, and more love and support than I ever imagined I had.

Gifts come in many forms…not always wrapped in pretty papers or adorned with ribbons.  Sometimes they come unannounced and in the shape of something as commonplace as a hug, an offer of time or assistance, or a simple check to see how I’m doing.

As I tread water, it is important to realize that those around me are really there to support me in whatever manner they can or I need.  And I want everybody to know that I love you, and appreciate everything you do.  Though I may not be able to express myself (sometimes because I’m on the edge of tears) your actions do not go unnoticed.

I pray that one day we all will be in a room together – round belly, gifts wrapped in pale blues, pinks, and greens – celebrating the life I’ve dreamed of creating.

-R

Categories: Infertility | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Round Bellies and Gifts

  1. Judy Johnston

    R-Your inner thoughts and words so eloquently versed…you may have missed your calling —- perhaps being a writer would be up your alley. But I know you have “Other” dreams and aspirations at this time – keep on imagining, visualizing, dreaming and praying. Love, JJ

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.